Keolis Awards $25,000 in Scholarships to Area Students

Now in its fifth year, $125,000 has been awarded to 125 students since 2016 as part of Keolis Scholars program

BOSTON – June 23, 2020 – Keolis Commuter Services (Keolis), the MBTA’s operating partner for Commuter Rail, announced today that it has awarded $25,000 to local students as part of the 2020 Keolis Scholars program. Twenty-five students from Boston, Brockton, Lawrence, Lynn and Worcester will use the $1,000 gift to help pay for post-secondary education or job training. This is the fifth year Keolis has awarded scholarships, holding a recognition ceremony online due to ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Keolis works with city and school districts with large populations of under-served communities and first-generation families to select Keolis Scholars and distribute awards, which were based on both merit and financial need. More than 60 percent of Keolis Scholars are pursuing degrees in science, technology, engineering and math.

On Monday, mayors from Keolis Scholar recipient-cities read the names of each scholar, the high school they graduated from, declared college for the fall and their intended major. Massachusetts Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Jeffrey Riley provided remarks and read the names of Boston’s Keolis Scholars. Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito and Massachusetts State Secretary for Education James Peyser also addressed the students.

“It was an honor to participate in the virtual awards ceremony to congratulate the students on their accomplishments. This scholarship award is a testament to all of their hard work over the last four years,” said Mayor Thomas M. McGee. “I would like thank the Keolis Scholars program for recognizing these students and providing them with additional support as they embark on their college careers.”

“I want to thank the graduates of the class of 2020 for allowing me to speak to them. You’re off to do great things and I want to thank Keolis for helping to make this possible,” said Worcester Mayor Joseph M. Petty. “During an uncertain time, these scholarships will provide a little added certainty to each of these students and their families.”

“The Keolis Scholars program is a highlight of the year for us and I’m very glad that we were able to hold an online ceremony to recognize these students during such a challenging time,” said David Scorey, Keolis General Manager and CEO. “Our Keolis Scholars have done so much for their schools and communities already and we are proud to support them with these awards. It’s important to us that we continue to build on our relationships with communities served by Commuter Rail.”

Included below are the names of the students who were named 2020 Keolis Scholars, along with their declared school and intended major.

Cristian Pleitez, High, Another Course to College, University of Massachusetts Boston, Biology
Evelyn Ocegueda, East Boston High School, College of Pharmacy & Health Services, Pre-Med Health Studies
Keliane Darosa, Dearborn STEM Academy, Framingham State University, Biochemistry
Lunise Lebrun, TechBoston Academy, Simmons University, Medicine
Melody Yitbarek, Community Academy of Science and Health, Bridgewater State University, Aviation

Abdul Abbas, Brockton High School, Boston College, Computer Science
Anthony Pham, Brockton High School, Wentworth Institute of Technology, Electrical Engineering
Katherine Molloy, Brockton High School, Northeastern University, Biology
Lessly Cabrera, Brockton High School, University of Massachusetts Lowell, Engineering
Neyana Fortes, Brockton High School, Stonehill College, Biology

Alondra Morales, Lawrence High School, University of Massachusetts Lowell, Biomedical Engineering
Jenaly Acevedo, Lawrence High School, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, Biology
Jennieca Sam, Lawrence High School, University of Massachusetts Lowell, Nursing
Samuel Polanco, Lawrence High School, Wheaton College, Biology/Optometry
Xamier Ferran, Lawrence High School, Tufts University, Engineering

Christopher Ouk, Lynn Classical High School, Union College, Engineering
Dayanna Estrada, Lynn English High School, Simmons University, Biology
Deandre Mai, Lynn English High School, University of Massachusetts Lowell, Nursing
Lizeth Nunez Merino, Lynn Vocational Technical Institute, North Shore Community College, Nursing
Lydia Chan, Lynn Classical High School, University of Hartford, Nursing

Agustina Pedroza, University Park Campus School, Worcester State University, Biology & Chemistry
Misk Aljeboure, Claremont Academy, College of the Holy Cross, Biology
Nicola Grozdani, Doherty Memorial High, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Computer Science
Steven Ngo, Burncoat High School, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Computer Science
Tracy Frimpong, North High School, University of Connecticut, Biology and Pre-Med